top of page

Free DIY Pallet Photo Display Board

Through my Pinterest searching for more DIY ideas I came across some DIY pallet seating plans and thought that I could use this idea to create something that I wanted, which was a photo display board.

I searched the local 'for sale' groups and found some free wooden pallets that had been left outside in the rain... all the more rustic!!

This is the most rustic pallet I found which was a perfect size for what I wanted to do. I also picked up some more in case I got some other DIY ideas! To get the pallet ready, I snapped off the rusty old nails sticking precariously out of the back and sanded all the parts that where just calling for splinters.

Next it was time for the writing. I looked online to find the perfect quote or saying to put as the title for the board when I found "making memories with you is my favourite thing to do" which was completely perfect! I cut some paper which was the same size as the top plank and sketched out the writing onto it with a pencil. I taped it to the plank and went back over the lettering hard with a pencil to leave indents in the wood.

Next it was time for the fun part... wood burning! This was actually my first ever attempt with a wood burning pen and it wasn't as smooth as I thought it would be (probably because of the beautiful rustic nature of the uneven wood!) but I am still happy with the result.

Next it was time for some twine and nails to make strings along for the photos to sit. I chose to only put string on the second and fourth plank. I found some super cute pegs with little hearts on them and had a look through some photos and added them onto the board with some cards given to me by my fiance and vice versa.

I am pretty happy with the result and the fact that it cost no money at all!! Gotta love some completely free DIY! I love that the photos can be swapped out for other things for different occasions.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page